Lucky!

March 14, 2007 at 1:52 pm (Uncategorized)

I won some yarn! This is especially pleasing to me since I’m not purchasing yarn and well, it’s gorgeous! I won it from Lisa at KnitNZu!  It’s Claudia’s hand painted – I’ve seen it on other’s blogs, but it will be my first experience with it and I’m very pleased. Thanks Lisa!

 Alas, no pics of Baby Genius Scarf…time just hasn’t permitted. I’m at the last yard or so of the first ball of Noro…and this is proving to be a long scarf. I don’t think I’ll need both skeins of Noro or the scarf will be 8 feet long and since I’m only just over 5′, that seems a bit of overkill…I think I’ll knit till the Lamb’s Pride gives out and that will be the end of it.

 How did I run over my own foot? Yeah, you gotta wonder, don’t you?

 About 10-15 years ago, I started selling lingerie at home parties. Wanna see people display their odd little personality issues? Sell lingerie at home parties, whew.

 My very first booking, I was very nervous. I pulled into the driveway of the hostess’ home…turned off the car…and got out. As I started to walk away from the car, I realized I’d not put it in park and it was s-l-o-w-l-y beginning to roll back down the driveway. Panicked…in 3.5 inch pumps (FUCHSIA spike heel pumps I might add – it was the 80’s after all…) I ran to the open driver’s window and reached in and rammed it into park, but not before the front wheel had ran over my toes. Looking back, I suspect I broke a couple of tiny bones in there..it’s never been the same and now I have arthritis there as well….

 Lastly for today….

It’s all Chris’ fault….

I mentioned I’m going to Portland this weekend and my big plan is to purchase my first STR? Well, I hadn’t picked a pattern yet, in fact, my brain sort of stalled every time I thought about it. What could I do that was NOT plain soul-suckingly boring stockinette but wouldn’t obscure the incredible color that is STR?? What did Ms Chris post today that I had missed whilst not blogging? RPM. They’re perfect. They’re knit with STR so I can SEE the kind of effect I’ll get AND they are knit on two circs. I’m even more excited for my little yarn store field trip this Friday! Thanks Chris!

3 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    You’re welcome!! 🙂 It’s a very clever pattern and easy to keep track of once you get comfortable with how it develops/moves.

    Thanks for sharing your story *ouch*. Did you continue on with the lingerie party?!? Yikes.

    Have fun in Portland!

  2. lsmithbendor said,

    Lol….I did finish the party – standing on one foot as I recall.

    Selling lingerie was my probably my first lesson in just how weird people can be!

  3. lisa said,

    Lisa! The yarn went out in the mail this morning….they said you should have it by Monday (but I’d say Tuesday). Let me know when you get it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

