A matched pair

March 27, 2007 at 11:56 am (Uncategorized)

The title refers to the finished Columbine socks. Yep, they match in the usual way, but they also match in that I FUBAR’d the toe on the second sock as well.

 After having a funny seam-like thing on the OUTSIDE of the first Columbine sock, I was determined to get it right this time. I sat in front of the computer and went through the kitchener tutorial on Knitty step by step. It worked FAB! I was soooo pleased. No funny “seam” this time. However, I did it on my lunch hour and then things have been really hectic with getting Jodie home and taking care of her. I just got around to trying it on my foot the other day…..

 and realized….something was wonky. It layed “funny.” Took me a couple of minutes, but I finally figured out what I had done. I had finished the toe….and kitchenered…..but I’d forgotten to put the toe back on the needles “front to back” rather in profile.

 YUP. I kitchenered the toe VERTICALLY rather than horizontally. After the first moments of disbelief (that I could be such a dumba@@), amazingly, I felt a sense of release. The first toe was mucked up. Now the second toe was mucked up. I’d learned from both events….it’s all good. They will be “house” socks. No…they won’t last as long and blah blah blah. But you know what? Oh well. They are my first finished pair and I’m happy. It’s like mucking up the second toe gave me permission to quit obsessing about it.

 RPM:  I’m on the 6th (last) repeat of the leg for the first sock. LOVE the pattern. “Just” enough pattern I have to pay attention, but it’s very easily and QUICKLY apparent if I’ve boo-boo’d. I’m comfortable enough with it that I actually have it as “take along” knitting….something I could never do on DPN’s.

 Pictures? Yeah, yeah. I have the camera back…I just have NO time. Working, taking care of Jodie, and I’m sponsoring a huge bellydance thing this weekend….I’m at the “sleep is an optional luxury I don’t have time for” stage. Pic’s will come. I promise.

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    The best best best kitchener directions are from The Knitter’s Companion by Vicki Square – you can even use the “search inside” feature at amazon to get the directions. Congrats on the finished socks! And glad to hear that Jodie is home.

Leave a Reply

