April 15, 2007 at 1:13 pm (Uncategorized)

No, I didn’t post twice, edited to fix the code for the link ~ Sorry!

Found at KnitNZu….and made me laugh: 

My Peculiar Aristocratic Title is:
Venerable Lady Sahara the Amicable of Bampton Underhoop
Get your Peculiar Aristocratic Title

 In other news…I’m about half way through the foot on the second RPM sock…I think of them as The Easter Socks because that’s what the colors remind me of, easter eggs.

 Been contemplating the very real possibility I have some form of ADD. Coming to acceptance with it…you know the first steps for me are to joke about it…let my mind get a grip on it…then accept it.

 Just saw:  TransAmerica. Excellent, excellent movie. Very funny… very real.

 Just read:  Dead Witch Walking.  Again, excellent. Funny…different…I’ll be checking out more of her work.

 Just dug out:  Simple Socks, Plain and Fancy. Realized this method is NOT for me. I can admire it…but I’m realizing I don’t have what it takes for DPNs, much less FIVE DPNs, and that I really don’t enjoy the short-row heel unless I am closeted in complete silence without distration on a very good day. I love the toe, but again….that ADD thing? I am so easily distracted it’s just a lesson in punishment when I try it. I’m a pattern girl. Give me a freaking pattern. TELL ME WHAT TO DO! Percentages? Measuring and calculating??

The bane of my knitting existence, frankly. When I learned to knit (with a Lion Brand scarf and hat kit, incidentally), I was thrilled. It resonates so deeply for me, the repetitive hand movement, color, texture….Then as I got past the scarf stage and wanted to do more…the Math hit me. I’m sure it would be very comical to have a little video of my face and reaction the day I figured out “oh God…this is Math!” That’s a verbatim quote as I recall.

 Math? Not me. Words, yes! Math? Numbers? No. I suspect this is why I also don’t enjoy chart knitting much, tho I’ve gotten past that for small projects.

 I’ve been looking at Destash and Good Yarn Karma quite a bit…thinking they would be excellent ways to rid myself of some unwanted stash…and possibly books too…tho I’ll be in Portland at the end of the month and..well….I’m in love with Powell’s. Books are more likely to go there.

2 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Dead Witch Walking! Isn’t it fun to discover something nicely offbeat?

    Y’know, knitting math isn’t as bad as “regular” math. Maybe because it’s more concrete?

    Hmm: Duchess Chris the Charitable of Westley Waterless.

  2. lisa said,

    Hey Bampton Underhoop! I have a hard time with socks, they take a long time for so little progress, those tiny needles, and you have to make a second one to MATCH?? Enjoy the day, Happy Bottomshire.

Leave a Reply

