The Truth Comes Out…

May 22, 2007 at 1:41 pm (Uncategorized)

So, I wanted to knit a pair of socks for Jodie. I had the blue sock yarn in my stash and she often quotes the “Steel Magnolias” (filmed in her hometown of Nachitoches, Louisiana no less) “Blue IS my signature color”….so I began looking for a pattern for Jodie’s socks. I had come across the River Rapids pattern and it looked like a good option for me to knit ~ i.e. not too hard but enough interest to keep me going. I cast on…and after the first repeat I said “Um….are these too lacy for you?” and she said “No, they’re fine.” Now, Jodie is very much of the butch persuasion. After the second pattern repeat and a try on…I said….”Are you SURE these aren’t too lacy for you?” and again, “no, they’re great!”

I sort of began to like them less and less for various reasons….but thought eh, she likes ’em, I’ll just keep on.

 Last night, when I admitted my defeat of willpower and showed the newly cast on sock (using that yummy Dream in Color sock yarn previously posted about)…Jodie says something to the effect of…”As long as you save that NEW BLUE YARN FOR ME! I love that yarn! I like that yarn a LOT better than the one you’re knitting my socks out of….” Where upon the truth came out…she’s not overly enamored of the River Rapids either. They just aren’t HER.

 Frankly, it’s a relief. I shoulda trusted my instincts. I do like the yarn and I’ll use it for something else.

2 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    Whew!!!

  2. Donna said,

    So good to see you back again! I’m glad you doscovered the truth about the socks before they were done 😉

Leave a Reply

