Recruiting More Workplace Knitters…

November 30, 2007 at 3:13 pm (Uncategorized)

I’ve been kintting on my hat pretty much exclusively at work. At home, I’m either dancing my butt off, or reading. I taught a coworker how to knit this summer, but she was not enthusiastic about moving past the knit stitch. She has made wash cloths galore and bath mats and now scarves….I taught her to purl but…she was not excited about it.

 Until she saw my hat. So…I’ve brought her a loaner circ, written out the pattern (Bonnie Marie’s The Player hat with no color changes) in a very step-by-step manner…and at break today we will enter the unknown waters of circular knitting, purling, and eventually head toward decreases and dpns. 

 Another coworker saw me explaining the hat to her and said…that’s too hard, I can’t do that. I said, sure you can!  She had chastised me a bit when I brought the hat in the first time and they oohed and aahed and I was sort of dismissive..”oh, it’s not even wool…oh it’s really simple…oh blah blah..” and she looked at me and said, “Are you a knitting snob?” I was horrorstruck – and abashed. I suspect I am. This lil ol’ hat? It’s not “real” knitting.

 She reminded me, yes it is too real knitting. I think I needed that.

 The hat will be done today…I have plenty left on the skein for another, and a second skein in the wings. I will be trying some other uncomplicated hat patterns…but refuse to consider it Christmas knitting. I made myself CRAZY last year with that, not doing that again.

 Happy last workday of November!

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    Happy Friday to you!!! 🙂

    It’s hard to just accept compliments, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

