Bleepity Bleep Bleep mittens….

January 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Oh Yeah. Now I remember why I have avoided Elizabeth Zimmerman’s works….

 I end up feeling like a flaming idiot, that’s why.

 She is much like my beloved Aunt and Grandma….incredibly intelligent with a dry wit…and her brain worked much differently than mine. The dedication in the book to the “blind followers”….that’s me. You know what, I’m fine with being a blind follower. Bleepity bleep fine, thank you very much.

 The mitten so far looks….like crapola. I am reminding myself, that tho I took a colorwork class and practiced a bit, this is my first fair isle/stranded project. I can forgive the tension issues…..but the mitten itself…..pure crap. Crap on a stick, no less.

 Argh. I’ve been sick since New Year’s Eve, thanks to the coworker who insisted on coming in sick I’m sure. I finished Koolhaus AND made myself finish the simple rib (Player ripoff) Twinkle Toes hat and cast on for the mittens last night while watching Biggest Loser (of which I am now a total convert and fan – Reality TV got me at last….).

 EZ’s so-called “pithy” instructions are not pithy enough. Just tell me what to do, dammit. I’ve reached the patterning on the mitten and will begin the thumb, I think. I’m a mite confused…uh, I’m a LOT confused about the thumb and am wondering why I didn’t make a SOLID pair or maybe a striped pair to start. Noooooo…..I had to do the Norwegian ones.

I loaded the camera software onto the newer computer….but can’t find the cord that goes between camera/computer. One of these days, i really WILL get pictures up again. sigh.

After all that b*tching….really, I am not quite as crabby as I sound…just frustrated with the “even an idiot could do it” tone of the book, when i am obviously exactly the kind of idiot she is talking about in the forward. Blind. Following.

 You betcha baby. And just fine with it.

2 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    Oh, I’m sorry to hear that you’re sick AND frustrated by the book. 😦 I don’t remember the tone of the book being like that.

  2. Jeanne said,

    Feel better soon. I hate co-workers who think they are so important the world will end if they don’t go to work, this taking out everyone around them.

Leave a Reply

