Almost done…

August 25, 2008 at 3:33 pm (Uncategorized)

The first toe-up sock is almost done…I finished the heel flap over the weekend at the coast and now it’s the cuff. There won’t be much of a cuff, maybe 2 inches if I’m lucky. The yarn has dwindled to a VERY small ball.

I’ve been thinking about the fiddly part I don’t like – picking up a stitch each row on the heel flap on the 2 circs made me nutty. I could leave them on the heel needle instead of switching them to the instep needle as directed and then I wouldn’t have to transfer one stich at the end of each row 34 times. Of course, that would mean I would really have to pay attention to what I was doing – something I’m not always sure of doing – but it bears consideration in the light of dreading it on the second sock.

All in all, I’m very happy with the way the toe-up sock was knit and the way it fits, not to mention feeling much more secure I wasn’t going to run out of yarn 20 rows from completion!

The coast was stunning Saturday – warm, sunny, beautiful weather. Our dancing was not so stunning, the music cut out on us three times and – it wasn’t pretty. But all in all, a great getaway just the same!

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    I do my gusset increases entirely on the sole/heel needle and keep them all there. I think I used to use markers to keep the gusset part separate when I was doing the heel decreases…

Leave a Reply

