Hey, I could be wearing that!!

January 24, 2009 at 11:02 pm (Uncategorized)

Friday, I had a rare chance to have a free lunch hour. Too often lunch is spend driving to and fro and running errands. I spent it at B&N. As I was walking in a woman was walking out and I instantly noticed her sweater – looked like Noro silk garden and scarf….I suspect a Flower Basket or something similar. I couldn’t help myself and had to speak “You’re sweater is lovely…..did you knit it?” and she smiled and said yes and kept herding her small children out the door.

I walked in two steps and stood rooted for a moment and thought “HEY! Wait a minute! Why aren’t I wearing gorgeous handknits like that?”  I knit!!! I have yarn! I have lots of yarn…but that’s another post…

Why AREN’T I wearing lovelies like that? Cause I don’t knit enough, for one and second, I either give it away or don’t finish it (uh, see #1 again). It bothered me. I went by the newly-moved LYS on the way home. I didn’t buy a thing (this is very good, I should be praised) but I got some ideas for the yarn I already own.

I love lace. Really, really love lace. But, as mentioned here before, I do not have a lot of time. I have relatively zero quiet, uninterrupted time and apparently that’s what I personally need to achieve lace-dom. I’ve also wanted a cowl/neckwarmer for awhile…so I looked around on the web, chose Abby from Knitty, dug out a hank of Mountain Colors Bearfoot – colorway forgotten but I think it might be Crazy Woman.

Shut up. I don’t want to hear how appropriate the colorway is considering the little bit of time I have and the desire to knit lace.

Started this a.m….I’m in love. It’s so simple (knock on wood),  even I can do it.

I’m working on my dad’s memorial – set for Saturday the 31st. I went up to his house and found several pictures, his Legion hats and I’m going to make a display for the service. I only cried twice – once when I found a stash of apparently every single card I ever sent him since I could write my name – I couldn’t believe he’d kept them! and the second when I came across his glasses, bent up from I assume his landing on them when he died. Cried like a baby. I can’t emphasize this enough, I never guessed it would be this hard.

But, it’s moving along and so am I.

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    Crazy Abby cowl? 🙂 But I do know what you mean about the lovely handknits – I have very few sweaters that I knit that I actually like to wear. Maybe it’s the handwashing.

Leave a comment