Finshing, beginning, and tinking

February 7, 2009 at 10:43 pm (Uncategorized)

Since I’ve posted last I’ve finished the Abby cowl.

Very pretty…tho apparently I have a big head (ahem, actually my son and I are teased by family for our ‘gigantic heads’ so I guess this shouldn’t be a big surprise) and it does not look loose and lovely on me as it does the model.

In fact, it looks rather like I’m a Russian “washer woman” from an old movie.

Then I cast on the Landscape Scarf by Evelyn Clark. And then I ripped it out and cast on again. And then…I ripped it out. And then, (can you guess??) I cast on and knit and tinked, knit and tinked, knit and tinked..). I’m about 3/4 done with it now. It’s not perfect. There are errors. But, I don’t care, lol. If I ripped one more time I would never start.

I’m knitting it out of Noro silk garden sock…which is okay. I love the colors for the most part, but being noro, in the middle of the skien there are sometimes really funky colors that have nothing to do with the colors on the outside! As well, the inconsistency of the yarn bothers me. Thread-thin in one area….almost bulky in another. This a.m., I came across a simple knot – totally throwing off the color repeat. Not sure what I’m going to do about it…but it was one more annoying thing with this yarn that bothered me. I can tell you, I would HATE socks knit out of this. They may look gorgeous, but the thin/thick effect would really bother me.

Other than that…We had my dad’s memorial service last week. I’ve been to the probate attorney and what I found out was pretty stressful. I can’t touch dad’s money for four months. During that time, I have to pay his bills/keep his utilities on out of my own pocket and be reimbursed at the end of probate. Um, can you say “HOLY COW how am I supposed to do that?” All in all, quite stressful, tho there is a light at the end of the tunnel when probate ends and I can sell the house. I won’t be rich, FAR FROM IT, but I can hopefully get debt free and have a “nest egg” in the end.

Working wayyyy too much…but other than that…fat and sassy.

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    Oh, I bet the shawl will be gorgeous! Heh, all Noro is like that – maddening with the knots and the crap spinning, yet the colors keep us coming back.

    Yikes, how stressful – I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you during probate!

Leave a Reply

